- Church Stretton Community
- Local Directory
- About Church Stretton
People travel for miles to Church Stretton purely to explore its treasure-trove of antiques. The town has three main antiques attractions all of which are worth a visit. Click below to find out more about each one including where they are and opening hours.
The building now housing the Stretton Antiques Market in Sandford Avenue was originally built as a maltings, warehouse and shop by the Macartney family. It opened c. 1904 and closed about the time of the outbreak of the Second World War. Subsequently for several of the war years the building was used as an Industrial training workshop by St Dunstan's which moved to Church Stretton from their premises at Ovingdean, near Brighton, after the fall of France in mid-1940.
Beginning with the Long Mynd Hotel (for accommodation) and Tiger Hall (as a hospital) St. Dunstan's gradually took over many of the large premises in the town for accommodation, training or recreation purposes. Over 700 servicemen and women and a number of civilians were looked after and trained in new skills after being blinded during the war. St. Dunstan's returned to their south coast premises in 1946. There is a plaque commemorating the association between St. Dunstan's and the town in the north transept of St. Laurence's Church.
The St Dunstan's charity was renamed Blind Veterans UK in 2012